Every Saint Has A Past.. Every Sinner Has A Future!

At times in life we lose our ability to decide on what is right and what is wrong. We end up doing things which weren’t meant to have been done. But, that doesn’t mean that we are not the same person anymore by heart. We are never taught how to go about life at different stages. The smart asses get their way out perfectly at all times.. But some jerks like me stumble a few times before we get our way out.

A few days back.. That wasn’t the way my thought process worked, to be frank! I was equally judgemental of the blunders I had committed till now. But a very dear friend gave me this new perspective towards the whole idea. And now I realise, life is not about crying over what happened or the wrong decisions we made.. Life is about what we learn from them and how we make the journey more beautiful. It’s about looking at the prettier things that life has to offer. No matter how big the blunder was.. Or how bad our life got affected by the decision we made.. Unless we make peace with it and find closure within, the world will not let make peace with it too. All we need to do is drop the baggage and move ahead. With a pure heart and good intentions, I believe, we could still move the world around!

****

I read this a long time ago.. But in real, today I understood its meaning..

‘I don’t know if I continue, even today, always liking myself. But what I learned to do many years ago was to forgive myself. It is very important for every human being to forgive himself or herself. Because if you live, you will make mistakes- it is inevitable. But once you do and you see the mistake, then you forgive yourself and say, ‘Well, if I’d known better I’d done better,’ that’s all. So you say to people who you think you may have injured, ‘I’m sorry,’ and then you say to yourself, ‘I’m sorry.’ If we hold on to the mistake, we can’t see our own glory in the mirror because we have the mistake between our faces and the mirror; we can’t see what we’re capable of being. You can ask forgiveness of others, but in the end the real forgiveness is in one’s own self. I think that young men and women are so caught by the way they see themselves. Now mind you. When a larger society sees them as unattractive, as threats, as too black or too white or too poor or too fat or too thin or too sexual or too asexual, that’s rough. But you can overcome that. The real difficulty is to overcome how you think about yourself. If we don’t have that we never grow, we never learn, and sure as hell we never are able to live the life that god has planned for us.’ 

-Maya Angelou

****

Leave a Reply

